Mate, turn off your fucking phone

Oh, what the fuck. I mean, I knew today wasn’t going to be the most productive when I rolled out of bed at noon and immediately told myself not to go on my phone first thing, then did it anyway. I knew it immediately when I went through all my entertainment applications and was bored while doing it. Not to mention after I was done checking all the updates. I watched something on YouTube that I wasn’t interested in at all. I realized I wasn’t interested so I exited to look at Bleacher Report. See if anything had changed in the past ten minutes. Nothing, still bored as hell. And then it was two in the afternoon. I wasn’t even enjoying being unproductive. I was neglecting my morning – now afternoon – routine for something that was boring the fuck out of me.

By two, I was ready to take a nap. After getting roughly ten hours of sleep. Sometimes that’s how days go. But not today, because I am in fact speaking of today. This happened the day this post was written. I was watching a video around two pm, felt sleepy, rolled back into my bed and thought, “Well, this is bullshit.”

I was halfway through something I don’t even remember and turned off my phone. I didn’t quit the application, I just turned off the phone and the voice talking slowly died away. It was a little sad, to be honest. Then I went downstairs, made some coffee, and started reading “Walden” by Henry David Thoreau. I felt so good.

I’m dealing with a situation with a girl I’m interested in and so it just felt good to detach. I didn’t realize how simply turning off my phone took a mental weight off my shoulders of constantly checking my texts. When I’m bored and about to start doing something productive, it’s so easy to pick up my phone and mindlessly check Bleacher Report even though I know there’s not going to be anything new on it. There are some good football articles on there, but they’re not worth checking every two minutes for.

I’ve just gotten through my morning routine as of 3:53pm. Albeit a tad late of my usual six am on a day when I have class, but it got done.

I used to be really into the habit of turning off my phone when I didn’t have much to do on a day. I haven’t lately because I was caught up in my soccer season and I didn’t have much free time anyway. But I’ve done it before and it feels so good to get away from the world. To play guitar without wondering if something is happening. To write without checking my phone for messages constantly.

There’s a drawback you say; what if something is happening and I miss it because my phone is off?

There’s a simple answer: you miss it. Now hear me out though, I recognize that missing that one social engagement is the end of the world. I love going out as much as the next guy. But if you don’t have anything planned for a day or night, whatever then in my experience one out of five times someone will text you trying to hang out. Maybe less or more depending on if it’s a weekday or weekend. So most of the time, nothing will happen. And if you spend that day on your phone, not only did you not go out, you stayed inside and did nothing. Not great. At least if you’re not going out, turn off your phone, stay in and play guitar. Get some shit done around your house. Sell your surfboard. Hit Goodwill to update your closet. Fuck man, you’ll be surprised how much stuff you can do when you’re not constantly distracted by your phone.

It might surprise you.

Be easy.

Leave a Reply

