On appreciation

Hemingway wrote that when you don’t know what to write, ask yourself the question, What do I know best right now, in this moment. Whatever comes to mind, write about that.

What comes to mind for me is that after writing for months, there is appreciation. I published a post for the daily prompt on WordPress and three people liked it.

Three people may not seem like a lot, but they are a lot to me. That means that three separate people took the time not only to start reading my post, but to finish it. And then they enjoyed it enough to let me know. That means the world to me.

Now, you shouldn’t write solely for the purpose of appreciation: you will become disheartened very, very quickly.

Work for the sake of the work you’re doing. And then, eventually, some little appreciation will come your way.

And if you keep working, maybe that appreciation will grow.

5 thoughts on “On appreciation

  1. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working
    with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time making a
    decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting
    off-topic but I had to ask! http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

    1. Absolutely, I’m working with WordPress and I really love it. They have a free blogging platform which is perfect for my needs right now. Once I get to a certain number of followers I might consider the paid version but until then, just blogging for free is about right.

      Sorry I’m getting back to you see late, I’m still new to the WordPress community and didn’t know how the feedback/commenting worked too well.

      Have a good one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

