The biggest mistake you can make is accepting the norms of your time

That quote is Neil Strauss.

Why? Because when you accept norms you accept their limitations too. You’ve heard it from people — What? You can’t do that. That’s impossible. A light scoff, followed by, Alright, bro. Raised eyebrows.

You’re bound and constrained by hostility to difference and by this, you become just another steer in the herd.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Mark Twain

What if you started questioning commonly held beliefs? What if you asked yourself, Do I want to go to college first, rack up a hundred thousand dollars in student debt, and handicap myself in life until I’m well into my fifties? What if I try something I loved first?

I don’t have an answer for you there — what I can tell you is there are cheaper programs in Europe, online, and at community colleges that offer basically the same reward (you really think your employer is going to care whether you went to the University of Ohio versus the University of Maryland?) for a percentage of the price.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Pre-Prod.

Question the norms and interesting possibilities start to open up.

And if you don’t know how to start doing this? It’s simple. Look at what most people are doing (going to college right away, indulging in binge-shopping and binge-drinking) and take Mark Twain’s advice: simply pause, and reflect. You can still do these things if you decide they’re right for you, but that simple pausing and reflection will go a long way to making sure you’re not just following in your life. Eventually, you may take a look, say, Hmmm… This really isn’t for me.

And that will make all the difference.

 

Help send me to Southeast Asia! Here’s the link to my gofundme page, any help is appreciated. And if you send me your email, I’ll write you a personal note thanking you for your contribution 🙂

3 thoughts on “The biggest mistake you can make is accepting the norms of your time

Leave a Reply

