You don’t have time to read, right? You’re too busy. That guy over there is also too busy. Everyone’s too busy.

Bah-humbug.

Here’s a post by Ryan Holiday on why you don’t have time to read, why you should read, and how to read more.

Nobody has time to read. If you did have time, it would quickly be used to further some other productive goal.

The premise behind Ryan’s article, is you don’t have time to read because it’s not seen as important. It’s kind of important, you know it’s sort of a good thing you should be doing, but it’s not vital. 

Read the article. Seriously, those are just the broad strokes that tie into the point of my post. It’s a fantastic article that will definitely get you thinking, and it’s more important than watching a cat video on Reddit.

Bring that idea to writing: recently, I’ve been pushing writing to the back of my priority list. It’s still on there every day, but I would do things like go get coffee first, do my morning routine, but not write my post because I had to go to work or something, and it shows in my latest posts.

These are the two posts I wrote, Sometimes what you should do, and, If you don’t want to be old and unhappy.

I would get home at night, beat from the day, and have to write a blog post. And they weren’t exactly shit, but they weren’t exceptional posts either. They were just short because I didn’t have the energy to write a full-length idea.

Except for yesterday, why, because I wrote in the morning. Go figure.


For a long time, I’ve known that the key to getting started down the path of being remarkable in anything is to simply act with the intention of being remarkable.

If I want a better-than-average career, I can’t simply ‘go with the flow’ and get it. Most people do just that: they wish for an outcome but make no intention-driven actions toward that outcome. If they would just do something most people would find that they get some version of the outcome they’re looking for. That’s been my secret. Stop wishing and start doing.

Chad Fowler


 

If you want to be a better writer, you have to prioritize writing. Half-assing posts at night doesn’t work, because when you’re tired you resort to what you know already works.

There’s growth, sure. If you do any activity you’ll get better. But it’ll be so much slower than if you put in the hours each morning.

You’re not going to get better if you come home from a long day, beat, and then just crank out some alright post.

Prioritize your writing, make it the first thing you do in the morning. Make it something you think on each day, looking for books, quotes, ideas, how to be better. 

And see what happens.

 

 

7 thoughts on “If you want to become a great writer

    1. Also, I was just checking out your blog again to see what you’ve been up to and damn, you’ve been busy! I was wondering if I could shoot you an email asking you some questions about blogging?

      Let me know, thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

