A conversation is not an exchange of rants.

Often, we’ll be talking to someone and what we’re going to say is queued. Waiting to be expelled as quickly as possible.

Please stop talking so I can fill the space with my words.

No. When you talk with someone, be there. Don’t be in your head, waiting to espouse this long-winded tangent that has nothing to do with the other person – a rant that turns your friend not into a conversation companion, but into an audience. Someone to hear you go on and on about whatever.

Really, all you’re saying is; I’m great, listen to me.

The wisest men are those who speak the least because they understand – I don’t know nearly as much as I think. There’re aphorisms for this expression.

You have two ears and one mouth for a reason.

An Arabic saying: speak only if what you are going to say is more beautiful than silence.

That’s something to strive to. I struggle to keep my ego in check every time I have a conversation. If you do inner work on yourself, you most have to worry about this because you can be caught up in your own importance. Forget yourself, if anything, the important thing is not you in that conversation – it’s the other person.

Be there. Make a connection.

Quiet yourself, and listen to the world.

5 thoughts on “Quiet yourself

Leave a Reply

