I share what I’m thinking every day, but I’m not sure a lot of my readers’ have an idea of who I am. Let me shine a ray of sun through the window of my life.

My girlfriend and I sojourned to Washington DC to visit museums this past weekend. For me, it was an excuse to see her for an entire day. My girlfriend and I have gotten to the point where we get on each others’ nerves sometimes. If you’re at that point with your partner, that’s completely fine – it’s a sign of comfort. Familiarity. Not terrible.

What is harmful, is when your relationship stops being defined by love, and fun, and connection. That’s when problems begin.

And so we can get on each others’ nerves, but it’s okay.

Whenever I’m hanging out with someone, something can happen that makes me think, Love this person while I still can. And if this thing happens, you’re fortunate; it will take something strong to break your connection with that person.

It is this.

Something stupid will happen. And you start laughing. And then she starts laughing. And pretty soon you’re not really laughing at anything in particular, you’re just kind of laughing and she’s laughing at you laugh. And you can’t get words out.

That’s when you think, This is pretty great. And you know the other person thinks that too. Those moments only come from a place of love.

My girlfriend and I had that moment this past weekend, and so I’m happy.

Other things that are happening; I’ve started reading a tome called The Upanishads. It’s a collection of Indian teachings by ancient spiritual sages. An Upanishad is a story. Sometimes poetry, sometimes allegory, and other times just a writing, but they convey wisdom. Sometimes I love a particular verse in The Upanishads. Sometimes I’ll read a page and have no idea what the hell is going on. But there is wisdom in the words of these ancient sages who’ve studied the peaks and crags of consciousness through meditation. And so I read. You don’t have to understand everything to feel the power of their teachings, and it’s better that you don’t.

They write in words that take subtlety and nuance with repeated readings.

Life is constant learning, and effort to stay mindful of what’s happening right now.

I work every day. But that doesn’t mean that I get to fade out in the small moments of life. There is beauty and wisdom in the smallest moment. 

Whenever I’m finishing a post I always think, If there was one thing to leave those brave enough to finish this post with, what would it be?

For this post; your life is contained in the smallest moment. Look at one interaction, one minute, one flashing moment of happiness, your life is there.

Don’t make the mistake of thinking that any moment, no matter how small, is even remotely insignificant.

 

To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.

William Blake

4 thoughts on “To see a World in a Grain of Sand

Leave a Reply

