The realization that made me become disciplined

cats-eye-nebula-1098160_1280.jpg

I read a book ages ago. It was called, The Slight Edge. 

I still remember that book to this day. And it’s been years.

The slight edge is this; if you’re trying to lose weight. You can go to McDonald’s – I won’t even say that choice is between eating at home or going to McDonald’s because some people don’t have that choice – but you can go to McDonald’s. And you’re trying to lose weight. It’s easy to justify getting a cheeseburger. It’s just one cheeseburger, and it won’t affect you negatively that much.

But it’s also very easy to get a salad, instead of that cheeseburger. I know, I know, boo salads. But it’s a really small choice. That’s the point I’m trying to make.

That choice you make? It’s the difference between losing weight, and staying fat.

That’s a simplification, but it doesn’t just have to do with weight loss. It has to do with life. I’m way more disciplined now than I used to be.

Because at some point I thought, If I don’t make this decision now, then I never will.

That’s how I stopped masturbating. That’s how I picked up meditation. That’s how I picked up writing, and doing morning pages, and any number of other small disciplinary decisions.

If you don’t choose correctly with this small choice now? You never will.

It’s very easy to do the small things, but it’s also very easy to not do them.

That decision you’re making to watch Netflix instead of meditating? You’re quite right – it’s just a couple hours. But be very, very fucking careful those few hours don’t extend to become your life.

 

To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.

William Blake

Leave a Reply

