For the courage; thank you

bright-1209932_1280

This is simply a post of appreciation.

I’ve had doubts over my plans to travel. I’ve had doubts over whether not going to college immediately was the right thing to do.

I’ve doubted a lot of things over these past few months.

But if I went to college, I probably wouldn’t have time to write this blog. Or if I found time, my posts wouldn’t have as much heart in them as I’m able to put in.

Tony Robbins is famous for saying life happens for you, not to you. It’s up to everyone to find the benefit in their situation. I remembered that quote when I was feeling alone and I believed it in my head. But my heart was still sad.

If I went college, I wouldn’t have two things. I wouldn’t have had deep-rooted feelings of self-doubt, sadness, frustration, anger, and loneliness that led me to seek advice.

Those feelings led me to read The Prophet, The Upanishads, The Bhagavad Gita, and now the book I’m currently reading, The Dhammapada. 

I was looking for guidance and I found it. Especially in The Dhammapada, which is a collection of the Buddha’s teachings with explanation provided by Eknath Easwaran.

And the second thing I wouldn’t have if I’d gone to college was the time to do my own reading and research.

Self-searching would have been lost in favor of introductory college courses. By taking a year off, I’m free to purchase the best books in what interests me without being guided by a curriculum and required reading list.

If I went to college right away, I’d be committed to a four year program that would be plagued with bitterness because I would be bored out of my mind while sitting on a deep-seated fire to travel the world. I would probably drink myself into stupidity every weekend.

This is a simple post of appreciation for everyone who’s ever encouraged me to stick with what I’m doing. And there’s appreciation to myself for doing what is right for me, even when doubts haunted my mind.

And here’s the main quote that gave me courage for this path.

 

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. 

Mark Twain

So to anyone, to everyone, my readers — truly, everyone who likes my posts and especially comments has my love — and my friends in real life; thank you. 

One thought on “For the courage; thank you

Leave a Reply

