On doing small things correctly

It’s not about withstanding the cold brush of freezing water across your body.

That’s what happens when you take a cold shower. But that’s not what it’s about.

It’s about doing the small things correctly. Doing something that’s physiologically good for you, even if it’s unpleasant.

Everyone goes, when this one big disciplinary event comes around in my life that’s when I’ll be disciplined. That’s when I’ll be mindful // loving // kind.

That’s not how it works. If you do not do the small things correctly now, then when that one big event comes around that you’re oh so magically going to ace, you fail. You will fail hard. 

People say I want to be so mindful that when my father dies, I will be calm, placid, and stoic. People have this faith that when that huge event comes around, they will conquer it. Vanquish their anger, sadness, and outbursts. That one big test, that’s what we all need to finally become mindful people.

If that one big event ever came around, you would crash and burn.

People say I want to be so confident that even when my business is tanking in the short term, I have complete faith in myself that I’ll see it through. Unperturbed by the crushing weight of others’ rejection.

No. If you don’t build that trust in yourself across many smaller conversations, many smaller failures, many smaller events, you will crash and burn.

So yes, taking a cold shower is withstanding the cold brush of freezing water across your body.

But that’s not what it’s about.

Leave a Reply

