How many people care about writing enough to read a thousand words?

My writing yesterday was self-indulgent writing. Self-indulgently long-form too. It was for a purpose.

That purpose was to see if people liked a story of my life. For one. I noticed that error as soon as I began writing — I didn’t have a question that guided my thought. Something that could help people if I answered the question.

I just wrote a post about something that had happened recently and had had me thinking about humility.

The second reason was to see how many people care about my writing enough to read around a thousand word post. The answer is two.

It’s amusing. Freeing.

It’s something that cements in place; when you write, write for yourself. Because if you love what you’re writing, then there’s at least one person who loves it and learned from it.

And I even made this post under two hundred words so most people would read it. How about that.

2 thoughts on “How many people care about writing enough to read a thousand words?

Leave a Reply

